The Open Championship – THE VIP STARS


Corey Conners



The Open Championship, commonly known as The Open or British Open, is the oldest golf tournament in the world and one of the most prestigious. Established in 1860, it was originally held annually at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. The location then rotated between selected Coastal Links golf courses in the United Kingdom. It is organized by R&A.

The Open is one of the four major men’s golf tournaments, the others being the Masters Tournament, the PGA Championship, and the U.S. Open. are open. The Open has chronologically become the fourth and last major tournament of the year since the 2019 PGA Championship moved to May. It is held in mid-July.

The Open is named for the fact that it is “open” to both professional and amateur golfers. In practise, the present event is a professional tournament in which a select group of the world’s top amateurs compete by invitation or qualification. The tournament’s popularity has resulted in the establishment of several new open golf tournaments around the world. It is played on the third weekend of July and lasts for four days with 18 holes each day…

Colin Morikawa is the current winner, having won his 149th Open with a score of 265 at Royal St. George Golf Club in Sandwich, England.


Corey Conners

The Open Championship History

Twelve professional golfers competed in a three-day event at Prestwick Golf Club with the intention of finding a Champion Golfer of the Year. The first Open Championship was held on October 17, 1860, in Scotland. Willie Park Sr. shot a 174 over 36 holes to win the tournament. It was opened to amateurs in 1871, when it became known as the British Open.

It was held at different locations until 1892, when it settled at St. Andrews. St. Andrews has hosted the tournament 11 times since then, most recently in 2015. Other frequent host venues include Carnoustie, Muirfield, and Royal Birkdale. The field has grown from 12 golfers to 156 in the last decade. Starting in 2013, there will be 156 players qualifying for the event via two pathways: one with rankings and one without.

In addition to the majors, including the Masters Tournament, U.S. Open Championship, and PGA Championship, there are five other major championships recognized by the LPGA Tour: Evian Championship (women only), LPGA Championship (women only), Women’s British Open (Ladies European Tour), Canadian Pacific Women’s Open (Ladies European Tour) and Solheim Cup (all women).



Tournament Days: Thursday through Sunday are tournament days.

Tee times: In the first two days, each participant has one morning and one afternoon tee time in groups of three, which are generally randomized (with some organiser discretion). On the latter two days, there were two-person groups, with last place going out first and leaders going out last.

Cut off: After 36 holes, only the top 70 and ties advance to the final 36 holes.

Playoff: If the lead is still tied after 72 holes, a three-hole aggregate playoff is held, followed by sudden death if the lead remains tied.


The regulatory body, the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St Andrews, determines a player’s spot in the Open Championship (R&A). There are a number of ways to gain a spot in the Open. The majority of the spots (156) are reserved for individuals who qualify through 36-hole open qualifying tournaments, which are usually held two or three weeks before the tournament. Winners of one of the 54 European Tour Events held between July 1st and July 16th are granted one hundred places. Another 50 slots are reserved for PGA Tour winners between June 15th and July 16th.



The Open Championship takes place at the Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland each year. It is the oldest golf tournament in the world, and is one of the most prestigious. The event was first held annually at Prestwick Golf Club in 1860. It has now been held at its current location since 1873. Apart from the championship’s traditional host site, other venues have hosted The Open on a regular basis for at least one year in its history. For example, Royal Troon Golf Club hosted the championship for 10 straight years from 1953-1963. Muirfield in Edinburgh is the home of two previous champions: (2006) and (2005). Carnoustie Golf Links last hosted in 1999 and is hosting again this coming July 20th through 23rd, 2017. The second successive British title won by John Garner in 1973; And the victory over Jack Nicklaus in 1979 won by Tom Watson.


Live stream

A golf tournament known as The Open Championship or The British Open is the oldest and most prestigious competition in the world. It was originally held annually at Prestwick Golf Club in Scotland. Organizers are preparing to hold the tournament at Royal Birkdale Golf Club in Southport from July 20-23. If you can’t make it to Birkdale, don’t worry – you can stay up to date on all the action on ESPN. Additionally, you’ll be able to stay up to date on the tournament’s official website, Twitter stream, and Facebook page.



Read Also

Pete Davidson Biography, Height, Age, Tattoos, Girlfriend & More – THE VIP STARS

Leave a Comment